Biblical church mentality

I think I’m losing my mind. Or maybe I’m just separating from the type of mentality that was once forced to believe.
I have always been taught that to see church growth I had to have a large church mentality. I guess I don’t really know what that means. From reading and conferences and even my own experience a large church mentality has proven to be, “the pastor moving away from hands on ministry.”
Don’t get me wrong, to have parishioners who help clean up and get the offering ready, and take care of the maintenance that is a biblical nessessity. The disciples created deacons as table servers to take care of the Greek widows. The word literally means slave or servant. The took care of the physical need so that the disciples could take care of the ministry.
But what about the hand on minstry. I have worked in churches over various sizes and it devastates me to see pastors who have tunnel vision, their own selfish agenda, or even are too ignorant to realize they are undermining their own ministry.
I recently had a discussion about Halloween. I had a friend say that he wanted to have revival on Oct 31. Sorry but that is counterintuitive. That tells the community, “We are better than you because we are worshipping Jesus.” The same thing with refusing to have an Easter egg hunts, superbowl parties, and Christmas pagents. When the church does not do things that people are involved in the church appears judgemental and arrogent. But when you say, I love this community enough that I want to offer the kids something to do so that they can learn about Jesus and also get off the streets then you are making a difference. Letting them hunt eggs and talking to them about the eggs symbol of new life is like the symbol of Jesus on the cross, you will see a break through.
We look at the great generals from wars gone by and everyone wanted to be in the middle. They wanted to be in the foxhole, hands on, changing people’s lives. All military complain about the pencil pushers that have never seen action and make decisions that make no sense in pratice. Far too many churches have fallen to the same prey.
It completely devastates me to see churches all around that are so focused on getting their numbers up that they are losing the personal touch. Yes, it is great to have 15 pastors and the lead pastor preaches and the rest do the lower work. But is it bad that you like cleaning the tables? Is it bad that you like making a personal connection with people?
We have a paradox of polar opposites. The “small church mentality” is when the people believe that the pastor should do it all and the people are not mentored and trained in ministry. The “large church mentality” is when the pastor is no longer touched by the people and everyone else does the work of minstry.
The “biblical church mentality” is when the church joins hand and hand with the pastor following the direction of the Holy spirit and vision for the church.
This is accomplished when the church realizes the pastor is just another cog in the wheel of the church. He is not meant to be the donkey that carries the load of the church but is also not to be separated from the church by a stain glass wall. He is a member, he is a leader, and a shepherd. Actually he is kind of like the head sheep almost. No doubt, his responsibilities are different and his employment is more dire to the soul, but he still uses toilet paper, puts his pants on one leg at a time, and yells when he has smashed him thumb with a hammer five times in a row.
Church growth occurs when the pastor is able to teach the people to join hands and walk together to accomplish the vision that God has set before them. Good pastors don’t make mandates and directives, they take the word of God rightly divided and understand that not everyone has to be in agreement with everything. Instead they have to know that he is just and listens to the voice of God. Moreover, their allegiance should never be politically motivated, manipulated, or threatened. Their allegiance should be earned through mutual respect and love. That was how Jesus is demonstrated to use in the word of God.
Churches grow through personal connection. They grow when people see the pastor leading with vision with his or her hands and feet.
More than anything as a pastor I want to be the hands and feet of Christ and I want to help those around find out how they can fit in the gear that we call the body of Christ.  When I am able go on missions I want to teach other Christians how to show love for each other. I want my kids to see me doing the things that other people are unwilling to do and learn to do the same.
How can I tell them about Christ if they are freezing?
How can I tell them I love them if they are starving?
How can I help them believe that I care and am willing to walk hand in hand with them if their dying because they can not quit doing Crack or heroine?
How do I have the arrogance and audacity to tell them of the wonders and glory tomorrow in heaven if I am not going to trouble myself to help them out of the Hell they are in today on earth?
I know you have to have the money, but my daddy owns the cattle of a thousand hills. I know you have to have the sustainability but my daddy shall supply all my needs according to his riches in glory through Christ Jesus my lord. I know you have to have a place to worship, but the disciples worshiped  on the street corners and in the synagogues. And the hour is here when true worshippers are getting ready to worship him in spirit and in truth. For he is spirit and that is how he wants our worship. And what good is multimillion dollars if there is no love.
God is no where close to being done with me yet. I don’t think we have seen the end anywhere close to being in sight he still has work for the church to do. He wont come back until we have finished the work. For me I know he had a plan. And he will see that plan to completion. I’m ready daddy for you to show me where to step and where to go.

Leave a Reply

