Trust not your own understanding

So recently I feel God is definitely trying to reinforce this scripture in my life. I am trying to make a career change. I 2011 I left Pastoring full time and have been working primarily at police dispatch. I have gone through the process of getting my Texas Teaching license through an alternative program. Now, I always see stats that there are not enough qualified teachers, but I guess that is not true in Texas because I applied for around 300 jobs before the 2014-2015 school year and the only interview I got was at the school where my wife works.
Moving on, this school year I have subbed almost every day. I made high scores on both my subject test and my pedagogy test. I have applied for ever job that has come available. I really feel that I will have a job by the end of the summer. I know that I God will provide the right job at the right time, but that does not mean that I do not worry.
Recently, I taught on patience in our Bible Study. I the book Bearing Much Fruit I talk extensively about peace and patience being fruit of the spirit. I will tell you right now, just because I know it in my head does not mean that I have fully excepted it in my heart. I want it now. I want to know the answer. I want to see the door open and me not have to wait.
In Proverbs 3:5 it says, “Trust in the Lord with all of your heart, lean not to your own understanding.” But I want to lean on my understanding. I can trust my understanding. I can rely on my own ability. But it does not work that way. God is saying, “Wait, I got this, but it has to be in my time.”
I don’t want to see that. I want it now, and it is not happening fast enough. God is in control and all things will come together at the right time. I just have to wait and not lean on my own abilities.

Leave a Reply

