Planting Flowers

I love to tell the story of the first time that I tried to get my kids to help me plant flowers. My wife and I had it all planned out. We bought some petunias and daisies. We had the camera ready. My kids were about 4 and 3 at the time and we wanted it to be a special occasion.

I had the spade in hand and the little flower containers sitting behind me. I turn to grab the first set of plants and noticed that their heads were missing. They were just there, minding their own business, and now there little purple flower heads were gone. I turned back just in time to see my two boys dropping their little flower heads in the flower beds. Obviously, they had no concept of the process, and that flowers need to have their roots and water and so on and so on.

It really reminds me of the time when Jesus told called the pharisees white washed tombs.

Matthew 23:27 (NIV)
“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of the bones of the dead and everything unclean.

There are many pretty people, who have no root. They are like little flowers whose pretty petals are on display, but they are slowing drying up and shrivelling away. We have to be careful that we are not the same.

The pharisees had many traditions that they would follow. They would work hard to look perfect, but inside they were rotting. They were not truly believing in what they were following. It was all a show. Don’t let your life be a show of a religion that you don’t even believe in. Instead, burn like a flame shining your light brightly for the world around you.

Leave a Reply

