Not a Sum of Your Failures

People may wonder why I continue to bring up this concept, but I feel so strongly about it. I may even be trying to teach myself how to accept it. You are not just a sum of your failures.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to base my self worth and my esteme on my failures. I get frustrated because of the things that I have done wrong. For instance I made a fool out of my self with my son’s teacher several years back. Even today when I think about it I want to crawl under a rock.

It is so easy for use to keep a tally of everything that we have ever done wrong. We hold on to the past, our regrets, our frustrations, and we use them against ourselves when we are feeling down. Strange isn’t it. You think that we would want to feel better, but when we are depressed we actually replay all of the dumb things that we have done. We make ourselves feel worse.

Stop Doing That. You are not a sum of our failures. Your worth is not based on how good or how bad you have been. Instead, Christ died for you while you were still a sinner. He died so that you could have life. Your worth is based on the value that he gives you and not on the value you give yourself.

Next, time that you feeling worthless remember that God thinks your worth a lot. So much in fact that he gave his own son for you and he would do it again if he had to.

Leave a Reply

