Be Still

“Be still, and know that I am God.
vI will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth!”

It is summer and school is out. I have noticed that my kids are so absorbed in video games and tablets. They are so focused on electronics and things to keep themselves entertained that they have problems finding ways to stay entertained with out it. 

Recently I heard a parishioner tell someone who was watching her child, “Now you need to keep him entertained.”

I thought to myself, “Really, he is a child and doesn’t know how to play and imagine.” Then I realize how my kids act the same way. They want someone to entertain them. The TV, the Video game, the Phone. It is an epidemic. We live in a electronic driven society.

What about us? We live in a distraction filled life. I admit, I have to delete games on my phone because I will find myself playing them instead of using my time effectively. It is time that we take time for God. Set aside the phone and the computer. Turn off the TV and the video game. Stop everything and just be still. Be Still and know that he is God. 

When was the last time you actually were just still in the presence of God?

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version (Wheaton: Standard Bible Society, 2001), Ps 46:10.

Leave a Reply

