Was egypt that good

Exodus 16:2-3
In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. 3 The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.”

When I read this scripture I am reminded of our intense irrationality. Think with me for a moment. What did the Israelites endure in Egypt?

In egypt they lived in glorius houses made of gold and beautiful stones. They had slaves that did all of their work and they never had to lift a finger. Well the egyptians did not anyway. The Israelites were the slaves. They lived in meager houses. They only had the food that were provided to them by their owners. They were forced to building massive buildings.

Their lives were miserable and they cried out to God for deliverance. God brought that deliverance. He led them into the wilderness to head out of Egypt into the Promised Land. But just like every other person who has ever lived the Israelites wanted things to be easy. They wanted God to give them the promise but did not want to travel to get there.

In the middle of the journey they began complaining because things were getting hard. In this passage in Exodus, the people had been travelling. They made it to a place where they needed food, but instead of relying on God they began to complain. They even wished they had stayed in Egypt, in bondage, fearing everyday for their lives.

We look back and scoff, “Why would they want to go back in to slavery just. God will take care of you.”

But how many times do we do the same. A while back God moved me from a church where I had been many years. I moved to a place where I felt like God was letting me sit out in the middle of the wilderness. I was going through a lot of training and during that time had the chance to minister in an church that was much larger than the previous church. I also had the chance to do a lot of writing. Most people would say, “Wow”, but I seriously mourned the church where I left. I complained to my wife many times and even concidered going back.

We all do it. God says, “Get up and move on, I have something much better and greater for you. But before I can take you there I have to teach you some things.” We would rather not go through the training and get the end result, but we have to take time want wait.

What have ever mummered about? Did you keep moving forward?

Leave a Reply

