He will fight for you so Shut Up

I think this is my verse for the year 2013:

The Lord will fight for you and you will keep your peace – Ex 14:14

I have found this verse to be very encouraging. The battle is not mine; the battle belongs to The Lord. But what makes this verse special? Many verses tell us that the battle is the Lord’s. So what makes this verse so different?

In the final words it says, “You will keep your peace.”

What does that mean?

I used to think it meant, “Your peace will remain intact.” I actually preached that before. But after I took time to study it out I realized. The words keep your peace has nothing to do with peace. Rather it refers to speech. The writer says, “God will do your fighting, so be quiet about it.” In other words, “God will do the fighting for your, so stop worrying or complaining about it.” This tends to be my translation.

Though there are many translations that would translate, “You will remain at rest”, or “you will not have to do anything.” Though this is true and has a good meaning, I prefer the first translation. I know in my life I tend to be worried and complain about my problems. I tend to dwell on them and fret over what will and what will not happen. Instead I have to let The Lord do the fighting and shut up about it.

What do you think?

One thought on “He will fight for you so Shut Up”

  1. I think you’re right. And I think it’s one of the hardest things for His children to do. We have trust issues. I don’t trust my husband to remember to pick up a gallon of milk like I asked him to do. Why am I any more willing to trust a physically unseen God (as in I can’t put eyes on a corporeal form like I can my husband)? And almost all of us are like that. So we try to take care of it on our own, because we don’t trust. That’s what I think anyway.

Leave a Reply

